Discrete Mathematics

Course Schedule

The schedule is subject to change as the semester progresses, and the topics covered will be adjusted flexibly. The exam dates will not move other than for exceptional circumstances.

DateClassDue [Friday 6:29pm unless noted]
Tuesday, 22 Aug 2017 1. Discrete Math, Proof
Thursday, 24 Aug 2017 2. Methods of Proof Registration Survey
Tuesday, 29 Aug 2017 3. Well Ordering Principle
Thursday, 31 Aug 2017 4. Logical Formulas PS1 (MCS Ch 1, classes 1 and 2)
Tuesday, 5 Sep 2017 5. CNF, Logic in Computation, Quantifiers
Thursday, 7 Sep 2017 6. Program Correctness, Equivalences, Satisfiability PS2 (MCS Ch 2-3.4, classes 3-4)
Tuesday, 12 Sep 2017 7. Sets
Thursday, 14 Sep 2017 8. Functions and Relations PS3 (MCS Ch 3, classes 5-6)
Tuesday, 19 Sep 2017 9. Relations; Cardinality of Finite Sets
Thursday, 21 Sep 2017 10. Induction PS4 (MCS Ch 4.1-4.4, lecture 7-8)
Tuesday, 26 Sep 2017 11. Strong Induction
Thursday, 28 Sep 2017 12. ReviewPS5 (MCS Ch 4.5, 5, classes 9-10)
Tuesday, 3 Oct 2017Reading Days
Thursday, 5 Oct 2017Exam 1 (in class)
Tuesday, 10 Oct 2017 13. State Machines
Thursday, 12 Oct 2017 14. Invariant Principle
Tuesday, 17 Oct 2017 15. Recursive Data Types
Thursday, 19 Oct 2017 16. Structural Induction PS6 (MCS Ch 6, class 13-14)
Tuesday, 24 Oct 2017 17. Infinite Sets
Thursday, 26 Oct 2017 18. Uncountable Sets PS7 (MCS Ch 7, class 15-16)
Tuesday, 31 Oct 2017 19. Infinite Infinities
Thursday, 2 Nov 2017 20. Review PS8 (MCS Ch 8, class 18-19)
Tuesday, 7 Nov 2017 21. Number Theory
Thursday, 9 Nov 2017 Exam 2 (in class) - covers through PS8
Tuesday, 14 Nov 2017 22. Cryptography
Thursday, 16 Nov 2017 23. Counting
Tuesday, 21 Nov 2017 24. ProbabilityPS9 (MCS Ch 9, classes 21-23) (due 6:29pm Wednesday, 23 Nov)
Thursday, 23 Nov 2017 Thanksgiving Break
Tuesday, 28 Nov 2017 25. Computability
Thursday, 30 Nov 2017 26. UndecidabilityPSΩ
Tuesday, 5 Dec 2017 27. Wrap-Up
Thursday, 7 Dec 2017Final Exam (9am-noon)